Scottish Book Trade Conference 2016

The 2016 Scottish Book Trade Conference took place at Central Hall in Edinburgh on the 25th February.

The annual event is a collaboration between  Publishing Scotland and The Booksellers Association.

2016 Programme

Highlights of this year's conference included a frank and upbeat keynote address from Andrew Franklin, MD of Profile; The latest market tends from Steve Bohme, Research Director at Nielsen Book; A Trade Question Time panel with publishers, booksellers and an author.

Three marketing experts -  Miriam Robinson, Marketing and Events Consultant, Katy Cattell, PR Manager for Egmont, and Helenor Gilmour - Gilmour Graham Consulting -  gave us a creative lesson in Building and Marketing a Brand Proposition.

Eric Calderwood, Head of Retail Studies at Stirling University and Debbie Ross, Retail Manager for Waterstones in Scotland, talked to booksellers about How Shoppers Shop and how this has evolved.

The ever popular Fever Pitch, starring eleven Scottish Publishers, energised everyone in the afternoon and the day closed with insightful presentations from 'Another Country' with Markus Naegele, Editor-in-Chief, of German publisher Heyne Verlag and Sveinung Råmunddal, ownder of the Kviteseid Bookstore in Norway.

Batch hosted a drinks reception for all the delegates which was followed by a Trade Reception and supper sponsored by Lloyds, Bertrams and Netgalley


Thanks to our 2016 sponsors and supporters

Event Information

WHEN 25/02/2016 - 25/02/2016
WHERE Central Hall, Edinburgh
PLANNER Naomi Gane

Contact Info.

Email naomi.gane@booksellers.org.uk
Phone 0207 421 4640

APS Conference 2016

The 2016 APS conference took place at Wotton House in Surrey on the 17th to 18th March.

Delegates enjoyed a packed and engaging business programme. Professor in Sociology at The University of Kent, Frank Furedi, opened the conference with a powerful address on the promotion of reading in Higher Education. Professor Kathryn Sutherland, University of Oxford, delivered a rousing keynote on the second day, and also reported on the Academic Book of the Future initiative.

There were perspectives from the UK, Holland and Spain with Tim Godfray, CEO of the BA, Michael van Everdingen, CEO of the Dutch BA, and Juancho Pons, of the Spanish Booksellers Federation presenting their top 'industry concerns'

Other speakers included Jennie Blake, Library Learning Development Manager at the University of Manchester, Clare Anker, PA, James Bennett, CLA, Jonathan Griffin, LA, Helen Adey from Nottingham Trent and Andrew Robinson, Director of Learning and Cengage.

The Awards took place on the main night of the Conference. Writer, Comedian and Scientist  Dean Burnett got the evening's events off to a fllying start with his entertaining after dinner speech.

Blackwell’s, Oxford University Press and JS Group were all celebrated at the annual APS Awards

OUP was crowned Publisher of the Year, John Smith’s won the Chain Bookseller of the Year title. Blackwell’s won the Innovation Prize for its launch of Blackwell Learning, an online platform for e-textbooks. Blackwells in Sheffield won Bookshop of the Year. OUP also claimed a second prize, with Stevie Thompson chosen as Rep of the Year.

John Smith took home a second gong as Irfan Jalil, who works at John Smith at both Aston and Birmingham universities, was awarded Bookseller of the Year.

Scott Hamilton, APS committee chairman and head of retail sales for Blackwell’s, said: “This year’s winners demonstrate the level of talent, innovation and drive that is so prevalent across our industry. And the fact that each category was such a close call—with so many nominees receiving high marks from the judges—is testament to the academic publishing sector.”

The evening’s Outstanding Contribution Award was awarded jointly to this year's Conference Chair, Richard Fisher, former MD of academic publishing at CUP, and Linda Bennett, who has directed the APS Conference for many years. Scott Hamilton said: “Linda’s contribution and tireless commitment to APS, directing the conference programme for so many years and through times of great change, has been completely invaluable.”

Thank you to our 2016 sponsors:


Next year's APS Conference will take place on 18-19 May in Stratford-upon-Avon

The APS Group Committee have since agreed a name change for the BA's Academic Group. The Academic, Professional and Specialist Bookselling Group will, going forward, be known as The Academic Booksellers Group.

For more information on the Conference including sponsorship opportunities please contact Naomi Gane

Event Information

WHEN 17/03/2016 - 18/03/2016
WHERE Wotton House, Dorking, Surrey
PLANNER Naomi Gane

Contact Info.

Email naomi.gane@booksellers.org.uk
Phone 0207 421 4640

Event Programme Sponsors: LBF NBT Batch The Booksellers Association